Big vs smaller ships

craig9563

Dear all

Thanks for all the great info, I am a cruise newbie. We plan to take a cruise through the inside passage to Alaska next year. I have a question regarding big vs smaller cruise ships. A friend told me she is going with Holland cruises because there ships can actually get into the ports - Ketchikan, Juneau, etc. Whereas larger ships cannot get into the port and they ferry people back and forth, which my not be so ideal, but is this a reality? Which cruise liners park offshore and ferry people to the dock? This might gobble up precious time ? Thanks

Craig

We have sailed to Alaska twice on Princess. (Diamond and Grand). These are both large ships. We have never had to tender. My advice re: Alaska is look at prices and itineraries. But, go with Princess or HAL as they are the big players in Alaska. You won't be disappointed.

Edited by Donder1

Your friend gave you incorrect information. For starters, Holland's ships are big ships. Secondly, the specific ports you mentioned have docks that can accommodate ships of all sizes. The only time I have heard of tenders being used in Juneau was when there were more ships scheduled than there was docking space.

Edited by cruzeluver
spelling

Can't help with Alaska, never been there - but it looks like you've already got your answers.

HAL's ships are mid-size, I can think of some ports they can make that larger ships can't, but I can also think of other ports where HAL can't & smaller ships can.

But apparently not relevant to Alaska.

The main krunch is elsewhere in the world where small ships (smaller than HAL) can berth in the city but larger ships have to berth miles away - places like Saigon or Bangkok or Da Nang.

Different cultures on small ships too. Lacking the facilities & often the glitz of larger ships, but made up for in the friendly & intimate atmosphere - a village rather than a city.

Diff'rent folks, diff'rent strokes.

JB :)

Sitka -- tender port.