Looking for a new camera

saffy12

In preparation for our upcoming Alaskan cruise in August, I have decided it's time to update my old trusty 5mp Olympus camera. She's done well for me, but is 15 years old now, so it's time for me to get something a bit newer.

Specifically, after reading all the trip reports and seeing close up pictures of wildlife, I want to find something with a good optical zoom. Other than that, what I want is something that costs $200, fits in my pocket, and requires no thought before taking award winning photos!

Obviously, that's a bit tongue in cheek, but really, a small point-and-shoot that doesn't require too much $ (I can up the budget, but don't want to be spending $1000) or too much thought to use, but will take pictures better than either my phone or current camera will (otherwise, I don't need to bother).

Does anyone have suggestions where I should start looking to fit that bill?

I'm currently looking at the Sony DSC HX50v/b. As a professional, I really don't want to haul my DSLR and all the lenses around on vacation, but still want to get some good shots. This one has 20.4 megapixels and a 30x optical zoom (you want high optical zoom, not digital zoom). Found it on Amazon for $149.90. The MP will be high enough quality for a photo book after the cruise but the size is going to be small enough for me to take everywhere.

I have spent some time looking, once I decided I needed a new compact camera that is waterproof (snorkel Alaska!) . I decided the Olympus TG-4 most closely meets my needs and have tried to purchase one for the last 10 days. It seems everyone, including the Olympus store itself, is out of stock unless one wants an international model. Finally found one at Roberts for $349 today.

Folks on this board were once raving about the Panasonic Lumix FZ300 which has a constant f2.8 24x optical zoom. Won't fit in your jacket pocket but seems to be an outstanding bridge camera -- about $500, more or less.