Viking Ocean -- Normandy Excursion

jdl_tn09

My mother and I will be on the Viking Trade Routes of the Middle Ages cruise in September. We will dock in Le Harve and want to take a D-Day Tour. Has anyone taken the Viking D-Day excursion tour? Is it worth the cost? I also saw Overlord Tours were highly rated and that could be an alternative.

Just looking for advice on what D-Day tour company tour to use.

We have taken Overlord D-Day tours twice, and each time we were impressed buy the itinerary and knowledge of our guide. I have no experience with the Viking ship tour. Keep in mind that because of the distances involved (2 hrs to and from), you will get the equivalent of the Overlord half-day tour. Try and ask for a stop at the Bayeaux tapestry, very well done.

Dear Mark Tapley,

We appreciate the honest feedback regarding your shore excursion in Normandy. While we regret that your tour was disappointing, we hope that this was a rare exception among your many experiences traveling with us.

In our continual effort to improve our offerings, we would appreciate the opportunity to have a conversation with you. To further address aspects of the excursion that were lacking, please feel free to share your experience with us at Tellus@vikingcruises.com. With more details, we look forward to addressing specific areas where we may improve.

Thank you, Mark Tapley, for giving us the chance to address your concerns. We are delighted to have you aboard some of our future cruises, and look forward to delivering an excellent cruising experience.

Best,

Viking Cruises

We took the Normandy excursion from the Viking River Cruise and we were very disappointed. For example, we spent 10 minutes on Omaha beach. I would recommend a private tour.

MT