Boarding denied stories

10Jan54

Seriously? Does other peoples problems do something for you?

Something might be learned on a thread like this. People are always asking about proper documentation, being too drunk to board (I've seen this at Port Canaveral) and might even discourage people from trying to sneak illegal drugs onboard (I've also seen this).

I haven't seen anyone denied boarding but there has been a few that should have. It always amazes me how many people talk about how sick they were at the beginning of their cruise and lie about it on the questionnaire. I've seen people visibly sick checking in and no one stops them. It's like the plague. Within days they've spread it through the ship. Someone was just talking on another thread about how sick their whole family was at embarkation but they didn't let it ruin they're whole cruise. I bet it ruined a few others cruise.

As an OB nurse I've seen several pregnant women who looked close to term. I know women carry differently but there is no way they were less than 24 weeks. I don't understand why anyone would take the chance of something going wrong at sea. There was a story last year about a 32 week baby being born on a ship and the women couldn't understand why they didn't have Neonatal resuscitation equipment on board.

We saw a couple in Fort Lauderdale denied. They had been at the beach for a couple hours before boarding. Then sitting in that hot terminal. The wife said she didn't drink any water all day. Ft Lauderdale in May!!! She was woozy & looked sick. She drank some water & looked better but ship wasn't taking the chance. They had come from UK & were denied.

Learned a lesson, hydrate, hydrate & hydrate!!!!