DCL travel insurance

Valskate86

Hi everyone!

I'm new to DCL (have cruised on carnival and RC several times) and am in the very early planning stages of a November trip. I'm hoping all the knowledgeable CC members can help me with what I'm sure are the first of many questions I will have.

-if one person wants trip insurance, does everyone in the group need to purchase it? There are 5 of us and a few would be more comfortable having it and some want to go without.

-is the insurance available through DCL good coverage and is it considered expensive?

-would it be better to buy it through another company?

Thanks in advance for answers!

I purchase private insurance. It is cheaper and better coverage. OK--private purchased within 21 days (some companies are 14 days) of booking will provide "pre-existing" coverage. This is not just a pre-existing condition in YOU. What if a parent or grandparent has heart disease and takes a turn for the worst? In addition, many private companies provide a free child's policy with purchase of a parent or grandparent policy. Also, coverage thru DCL will include only those things purchased thru DCL. If you do air on your own, it won't be covered by DCL insurance.

DCL coverage does have one good provision that no other has. If their insurance doesn't cover a cancelation for any reason (you submit to their carrier and get a rejection), DCL will allocate 75% of the cruise fare portion of the ticket toward a future cruise for that person which can be used within 2 years. It is non-transferable and time limited. NOTE--this is not 75% of your costs as it does not include the cost of the insurance or any taxes or fees that were not refunded.

The reason I purchase is that my health insurance will not cover outside of the US. I could afford to lose the cost of the cruise, but the cost of a major medical problem could be huge.