First time going solo

Cleopatra13

Yesterday 11:44 AM

Cleopatra13

I am widowed 62 yrs old and find myself going on a cruise solo. Never travelled solo before but the cruise and airfare is paid for but have seriously thought about cancelling rather than go it alone. Then I tell myself I need to go for it - am afraid if I don't go now - I'll never go. Traveling on the Brillance - two back to back cruises (24 days) Greece and Venus on Aug 17. Struggling with this. Any advice anyone??

I'd say go for it! However, I've been traveling alone for many years (since I was 24).

Just found this thread: http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=2494682

I hope reading it will encourage you to try cruising alone. However, I know everyone is different. My sister, for instance, would not be comfortable traveling alone. And that's absolutely fine!

Just because we are enthusiastic solo travelers, don't let us pressure you.

Have you cruised before, just not alone? Did you cruise with your husband and think this will bring back sad memories? You are from the U.S. (Florida), right? Do you have direct flights or transfers? What cruise line and airline?

I'm not just being nosy--some airlines are better than others and some cruise lines are easier than others (embarkation, et cetera).

(edited to add the great solo thread)

Yes. Been on many cruises - just not alone. On the Royal Carribean and flying on British airways. Never flown on British Airways and I do have connecting flights. It won't be sad - my husband would have wanted me to go for it. Just don't know how I'll handle dining, etc. - always had someone with me. Trying to figure it out.

Yes. Been on many cruises - just not alone. On the Royal Carribean and flying on British airways. Never flown on British Airways and I do have connecting flights. It won't be sad - my husband would have wanted me to go for it. Just don't know how I'll handle dining, etc. - always had someone with me. Trying to figure it out.