What type of mix of people will I meet on Azamara or will I fit in?

Earl Colby Pottinger

So far I have done 14 cruises on Carnival, Holland America, NCL and Royal Caribbean.

I have booked the Journey for November 7.2018 for the trans-Atlantic to Miami as a solo cruiser.

However, I am in fact a simple person, it just happens that I have always paid 100% for anything I buy by saving up first. So I ended up owning no money on what I do have. All my life I have been a computer tech/programmer making less than $30,000 a year. My future home will be a tiny house in Northern Ontario.

I get the the impression that most of the people to be found on Azamara ships are of a lot wealthier and work in totally different fields (lawyers, bankers, money managers and other high-end jobs), I will try my best to fit in but I know my life experiences are different and I am worried about being on a ship for 17 days with no-one to talk to.

What type of people will I meet on the ship? Are they very relaxed and open to strangers. Are there event for solo cruisers on-board?

To those who wondered why I have dived straight into the unknown, I am finding the old cruise line getting more and more expensive with adding in their services, plus I want to go places that the other regular cruise-lines are not going to.

Also money is not a problem for me, two years ago I had a stoke and had the sell my lakeside property up north because it was water access only and medically it was not considered safe, last year I sold my house since the market here near Toronto was so hot, and I still have a condo in Miami so at the end the cruise I have some place to stay.

If things goes well I think I will try more luxury cruises, who do you recommend besides Azamara for a solo cruiser?

Or is this a pipe-dream?