Financially penalised for booking and paying early! MSC Opera Cuba 2 Sep

IrishRosh

Hi All

Just wanted to post a note of warning (yes, this is my first post on this forum as I'm new to cruising but I'm certainly not new to hotel and experience reviews as I pick up a lot of info from tripadvisor).

I booked a week-long cruise for two with MSC sailing from Havana (booking made in early May, sail on 2 September). We chose the cheapest cabin available - not quite the most basic option, but one up from basic, and paid £600 per person. I then paid the balance due 63 days before sailing.

The week after that magic 63 day period, the prices suddenly dropped, so much that I did a dummy booking and could book the cabin right beside ours for £200 less PER PERSON. That's a saving of 33% on what we paid. Because we were within that period, if we cancelled we'd lose £150 per person. So we would still be £100 better off for cancelling.

As you can imagine, I immediately contacted customer service. Hung on the phone for over half an hour, gave up, and tried again. I eventually spoke to someone who said there was nothing they would do for me. I proceeded to email customer service - same response. I emailed again asking for some sort of goodwill gesture that would make me feel a bit happier - again, they would do nothing.

I don't doubt that they are legally covered for that, but it really leaves such a sour taste in my mouth to know that the person staying beside me will have paid so much less than me. I feel that I was penalised for booking early. Perhaps I'm very naïve on booking, but I expect, like most things, that you get the best price when you book early, or else the company will match it (many hotels and airlines will do this). This is absolutely awful service from a huge cruise line, so I would urge you all to beware.

Oh - I have now twice asked for details on how to cancel but I wasn't sent any. I will continue to seek to do it.