Royal Clipper Dec 12, 2015 Barbados (Grenadines Route)

taphappy

Hello,

I booked my cabin today!

I'm giving a "call out" to see whether anyone would like to chat/share information or ask questions ahead of the cruise. I am a newbie to Royal Clipper, but I experienced a similar itinerary with Windstar about 5 years ago. I just loved traveling this route.

We didn't get to snorkel at Tobago Cays on that voyage due to post storm sea conditions. I promised myself to return one day - and here I am.

Bon voyage to all,

Nina

One or two thoughts to get you started on the RC. On your first day (out of Barbados) suggest you go in to dinner promptly at 7.30 and be out by, say, 9.45. Then make your way up to the area by the open part of the bridge for sailaway at 10.00p.m. The sails are being raised as the ship leaves the port and Vangelis 1492 The Conquest of Paradise (also known as Columbus) is playing. Wonderful.

For the Tobago Cays suggest you are in the bridge area as the ship approaches the island where it, usually, anchors off - a masterclass of navigation getting in there. Look to port and starboard as the ship goes in and, in the distance, you can see the waves breaking on the coral reefs. Weather permitting the RC will provide a lunchtime barbeque on that (uninhabited) island. Where you are taken ashore, just to the left (facing the shore) there is some nice snorkelling in shallow water. (check to see if there are any currents before you go in). You can walk to the other side of the island - just a couple of minutes - where you will see yachts anchored off. There is a nice long beach there where you can also snorkel. Suggest you only do that in the middle area of the beach and NOT at the ends and check carefully for any currents to ensure that it is OK to go in.

Thank you so much for the tips! These kind of insights make such a difference.

I can't wait to see the sail go up as we depart Barbados!