Is Silver Seas for Us?

25plus

Background: We are 65+; our first cruise was in 1986 on Carnival's Holiday and have since then taken 25+ cruises. To start with we always booked an outside room, then when balcony’s became affordable (Carnival's Destiny) we have booked balcony rooms. The last two cruises we have booked mini-suites on Princess and Holland America, and we have a mini booked this fall on Princess out of Ft. Lauderdale. I do have and wear a Tux even though my background is "blue collar" and my wife comes from a "white collar" background.

Our 50th wedding anniversary will be in Nov of 2011 and for a special cruise I have been looking at a one or two week cruise on SilverSeas. As anyone who checks prices knows it will cost approximately twice to three time as much to do SilverSeas as Carnival, Princess, HAL, etc. We have no one to impress, I just want something special for a very nice lady who has been my partner for 50 years. So I would appreciate some opinions as to whether to go with a minisuite or suite on the above mentioned lines or go for broke and go with SilverSeas. Thank you for any replies.

I think you would LOVE Silversea!! It is more expensive, but worth every penny as far as I am concerned. Your wish is their command. They will cheerfully get you any wine or mixed drink that you like, prepare special meals, if you ask in advance. Serve anything from a snack to a full meal in your room. All included. On our last cruise we had both an anniversary and a birthday. A cake was delivered to our room each time. Written in chocolate on the rim of the plate was Happy Anniversary (or Birthday).

Even the least expensive room (Vista Suite) is still very nice. All granite bathroom with separate tub and shower. Large picture window, flat screen TV, desk, couch and chair, even a little area to apply make up.:)

We could afford a room with a balcony, but why spend the extra money?