Choosing a San Francisco hotel?

Adventure mom

Hi

I am trying to choose a San Francisco hotel for 3 days post cruise. I booked the Stanford Court but am thinking of switching to courtyard by Marriott downtown. I am wondering which is better for me and my 11 year old for sight seeing and transportation to the airport. I am hoping to go sightseeing to Muir woods, the painted ladies (full house), Alcatraz and ride a cable car.

This is my first time in San Francisco.

Thanks for any tips. We will be there end of August.

Haven't stayed at either so can't comment on the hotel itself. Either location looks fine. Personally, I would stay as close to Union Square as possible. The painted lady's isn't all the great and the park across the street that gives you the best vantage point was all fenced off when we were there in June. But I totally understand going there, we had to take the eight year old granddaughter. Book your tickets to Alcatraz early otherwise you might not get the times you want. If you can do it consider the night tour. I haven't done it yet but it seems pretty spooky.

You will want to study the SF Muni & BART maps and figure out what mode works best for where you want to go. There are buses, trolley, street cars, cable cars, and BART. To/from the airport I would taxi or UBER.

Hi

I am trying to choose a San Francisco hotel for 3 days post cruise. I booked the Stanford Court but am thinking of switching to courtyard by Marriott downtown. I am wondering which is better for me and my 11 year old for sight seeing and transportation to the airport. I am hoping to go sightseeing to Muir woods, the painted ladies (full house), Alcatraz and ride a cable car.

This is my first time in San Francisco.

Thanks for any tips. We will be there end of August.