"Guaranteed Cabin" (unassigned): How does it work

blondee_yvr

I apologize if this subject has been discussed around before.

Being a complete newbie to cruising, how does this work? Our agent says that there are only a few unassigned cabins left on the Crown Princess and suggested to go with a guaranteed/unassigned inside cabin.

I know that the cruise can give you an upgrade but what does that depend on?

Also, if you arrive early in the port and check-in, does this increase your chances of getting a better cabin. Can you request a cabin away from the elevators and things like that, as in a hotel?

Thanks

I did not know that Princess offers "inside" or "outside" guarantees. Having said that, the guarantee, which is usually by category, simply means you will be assigned a cabin either in the category selected or better.

I once booked an outside guarantee on Holland America's Volendam and ended up with an excellent location in the highest "outside" cabin category (C for those who know HAL).

When booking guarantee, you do not have a cabin choice. You usually learn of your cabin assignment shortly before sailing. Periodically check your Cruise Personalizer on Princess' web site. Your cabin number eventually appears there. In very rare instances, you may not be assigned a cabin until check in at the port. Don't sweat it. That's often good news.

Upgrades are a complete mystery. being a first time cruiser, you're more likely receive one. They haven't "hooked" you yet.:p

I apologize if this subject has been discussed around before.

Thanks

Don't apologize. It would be a miracle if someone actually had a question that hadn't been discussed before. :)

Why not post a thread asking about dress codes? That's always fun.:rolleyes: