Advice on leaving ship in Auckland!

MedDolphin

Hello. We are currently two US citizens booked on the Norwegian Jewel on 1/30/2019. The final stop of this cruise is an overnight in Auckland NZ before two sea days and a return to Sydney (port of departure). I'm trying to determine what would be required or ramifications if we wanted to depart the ship in NZ and not continue back to Sydney. Anyone done this or any locals have advice? I know US citizens do not require a visa for NZ and we obviously have valid passports. The lady at NCL was not very helpful so I'm hoping someone here can help. Two sea days at the end seems like a waste of time considering I could be exploring more of NZ on my own. Really hoping someone has an answer so we can make the most of our time after traveling this far. Thanks in advance for any suggestions/advice.

I have no personal experience with doing this, but have read here on cc of others doing it. I know you said you already spoke with NCL, but you will need to try again, as you will have to arrange with them, if it is even allowable. Maybe send an email to them??

One story I read was with RCI in USA, and they had to organise it ahead of time (filling forms etc), pay a fee to do so, and of course still paid full price for the cruise. On just a port call day, there would not be customs & immigration staff there to 'clear' you, so this would need to be arranged, and cost covered. Maybe would be ok, as often there are crew &/or entertainers joining/leaving ship at ports.

I don't think you can't just walk off (with luggage) and not come back to ship, as they would be waiting for you, at least for some time & then you would be 'missing'. I guess it would be interesting what would happen if you just didn't re-board & turned up at airport for flight home. Maybe Jacinta will afford you refugee status ;)