Oceana - Marina, anyone have any views?

jgw321

I am interested in the Celitic Kingdoms voyage from Southampton 4 August 2019. I couldn't find a roll call for this. I have no experience of either the ship or the line, so I am interested in what others who have cruised with them think of Marina and the Oceana experience. We have travelled with CMV, Princess, Fred Oulsen and HAL on the smaller ships (up to 1200).

We sailed Concierge level on the Marina and loved everything about the ship, the crew, and the food. Only let-down were the 'free' specialty restaurants that were noisy, crowded, and virtually nothing more than miniaturized MDRs. The guest speakers and their programs were outstanding during the Atlantic crossing. Getting on and off the ship were some of the smoothest operations experienced in any of our ocean cruises. Highly recommend them, IMHO.

The Asian, French, Italian and steak specialty restaurants are included in the cruise fare, so are all non-alcoholic drinks. I don't remember the specialty restaurants being noisy at all and their menu is different from the main dining room.

Only let-down were the 'free' specialty restaurants that were noisy, crowded, and virtually nothing more than miniaturized MDRs.

This is the first time that I have ever heard, or read, anyone say this. :o

Are you certain that you were sailing on Oceania?

I, too, was surprised at the categorization of the specialty restaurants on Marina as been noisy, crowded and miniature MDRs. And we aren't particular fans of the specialty restaurants although we do like Jacques a lot. They CAN be crowded, yes, especially if a large percentage of the passengers on a particular cruise think they are being short-changed if they can't be in a specialty restaurant every night.. But I haven't found them to be loud and they don't strike me at all as a "miniature MDR".

Mura

+2, I agree with Mura. The Marina is my favorite ship by far.