Considering upgrade on Gem. Would you?

Sweetnspicy

We are booked in a Balcony room on deck 10 for our sailing to the Mexican Riviera in January. I keep looking to see what would be available if we did get an upgrade offer. I keep seeing that Aft penthouse suite on Deck 10 is still available. I look at it probably everyday. I know that with a bid you get whatever they give you if your bid is accepted but I am now considering calling NCL and just upgrading on my own.

The difference in price is about $2700 total. I cringe when I see that but it may be our last big vacation for several years. Is it worth it for that price? Is the space that much better and do I really need butler and concierge service? I work in retail so I loathe asking someone else to do something that I am more than capable of doing. I wonder if I would feel like a spoiled brat. We also haven't spent much time in our cabins before as we love being out and about but would you consider it? Help a girl out!

After upgrading to an aft penthouse on my last Alaskan cruise, my opinion is if you can swing it do it. The $2700 is a lot of money, so if you can be patient watch the prices carefully (like a couple times a day) and be prepared to jump on it if it drops. I was able to upgrade from a forward balcony to an aft penthouse on deck 9 on the Jewel for a bit over $200. You may not be able to score that good of a deal, but you never know.

After upgrading to an aft penthouse on my last Alaskan cruise, my opinion is if you can swing it do it. The $2700 is a lot of money, so if you can be patient watch the prices carefully (like a couple times a day) and be prepared to jump on it if it drops. I was able to upgrade from a forward balcony to an aft penthouse on deck 9 on the Jewel for a bit over $200. You may not be able to score that good of a deal, but you never know.