Arenal Volcano

KansasScrapper

I to went to the volcano area but not on a cruise and loved it. We bathed in the mud springs. Of course had to throw bathing suit away because the sulfur smell never came out.

Way too far for an off the cruise ship day tour. Maybe not the mileage but with the roads in the condition they are.

But do look for a tour. There is so much to see and do in Costa Rica. Lots of people come back for a week or more trip to see more.

• 1 month later...

I have never been off of a cruise ship but I studied abroad two summers ago in Costa Rica and we stayed for a weekend at a hotel at the base of Arenal volcano and it is in my opinion without a doubt one of the most beautiful places on Earth. If it is within your power to get there I strongly recomend going! Plus if you have the opportunity to stay until it starts getting dark you can see bright red lava shooting out! There are hot springs near by that are a real treat as well.

• 1 month later...

We were in Costa Rica for a week and only saw the whole volcano one time. Most of the time the peak is cloud covered. Due to road conditions, I would not recommend trying to this on a cruise as it is a very long ride. Also, the chances of seeing much are limited.

• 1 month later...
We were in Costa Rica for a week and only saw the whole volcano one time. Most of the time the peak is cloud covered. Due to road conditions, I would not recommend trying to this on a cruise as it is a very long ride. Also, the chances of seeing much are limited.