Independence of the Seas?

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting so hopefully I don't screw it up. I've been visiting this forum for a few months and have really enjoyed reading some great posts.

I recently booked the Independence of the seas for a 8night Caribbean cruise December 21st. I am 30 years old and will be travelling with my gf and several family members. We are booked in promenade cabins on deck 8.

There doesn't seem to be too much talk about this ship on the forum so I am hoping to hear some positive (or negative) experiences from others. Recent reviews don't seem to be great. I have previously cruised Celebrity, Princess and Holland America but have always been interested in trying Royal Caribbean. My only experience was touring Enchantment of the seas many years ago and thought it was a beautiful ship. Hopefully Independence would serve as a good introduction to the line.

Any feedback you can offer would be much appreciated. Thanks so much.

Jon

Welcome to Cruise Critic! Independence is one of our favorite ships. We were on her last March and are booked again on her next March. We have Promenade rooms on deck 8 as well for some of our family members. These staterooms are unique with the inside window overlooking the Royal Promenade. Deck 8 is the highest deck for these rooms and provides a nice down-facing view.

She just underwent her refurbishment which added the pool big screen, replaced Portofino's with Giovanni's, upgraded all public interactive computer screens, added a cupcake cupboard in the Royal Promenade, and other cosmetic improvements. Looking forward to sailing her again this upcoming March - I'm sure you'll enjoy her.

We love INDY :)

We have just today booked our 3rd cruise on Indy as we love her so much, Having just got off the Allure i can safely say that i am really excited that portofinos has been replaced by Giovanni's but that is personal preference no offence intended to those that love the latter.