First Cruise Sept 7 Volendam

Joannedisfan

My parents are doing an Alaska Cruise in September with Holland America and we are thinking of going as well. We would be doing the Sept 7th cruise on the Volendam. Departure time is 5pm and it arrives back at 7am Sept 14th.

I'm totally new to this and am trying to figure out flights, etc. My options are arriving in right around Noon on the 7th or flying the day before and getting a hotel. I've read that most people recommend flying the day before and I'm leaning towards that option. My only concern is my kids missing too many days of school. But there is a flight out at 3pm so my kids wouldn't have to miss the whole day of school.

On my way home I'm not sure how early I could book a flight out of Vancouver. Is it possible to make a Noon flight?

Also any just good advice for our first cruise would be appreciated.

My parents are doing an Alaska Cruise in September with Holland America and we are thinking of going as well. We would be doing the Sept 7th cruise on the Volendam. Departure time is 5pm and it arrives back at 7am Sept 14th.

I'm totally new to this and am trying to figure out flights, etc. My options are arriving in right around Noon on the 7th or flying the day before and getting a hotel. I've read that most people recommend flying the day before and I'm leaning towards that option. My only concern is my kids missing too many days of school. But there is a flight out at 3pm so my kids wouldn't have to miss the whole day of school.

On my way home I'm not sure how early I could book a flight out of Vancouver. Is it possible to make a Noon flight?

Also any just good advice for our first cruise would be appreciated.

Flying the day before is the best . Arriving at noon can be problematic . Arriving the night before is OK. Noon flights are the safest from Vancouver International.