Sydney Opera House Tours

Miss Priss

Hello fellow travelers:

This is my first attempt at posting, so forgive me if I skip some protocol. Three couples are taking the HAL cruise to Australia and New Zealand in February. In Sydney we would like to visit the Opera House in depth. Has anyone taken any of the packages that are offered there, i.e. dinner, tour and opera, drinks, tour and opera or twilight cruise, tour and opera? Also, is the bridge climb really worth the time?

One other question: We are considering the overland tour to Queensland (2 days, 1 night) but are worried that we will miss the scenic cruising around the southern tip of South Island (doubtful sound, dusky sound, etc.) Any thoughts?

Thank you for your help. Miss Priss

Priss,

Welcome to the CC board.

I've been to Sydney 7 times, but never on a cruise. I'm not sure if I fully understand your question.

Is this a package tour from the ship that you are taking and you'll only be in Sydney for a limited # of hours? Or will you have a few days in Sydney pre or post cruise to see it on your own and you've found a city tour that includes all the things you mentioned?

I think it kind of comes down to price and where you'll be eating and drinking. Sydney is a safe and easy city to get around in and it has some of the finest cuisine in the world. Does your tour say where you'll dine? Is it at Guillime at Bennelong right in the Opera House? (it's fabulous) Also, if you don't mind me asking - what are they charging for the tour? The Opera House conducts tours that anyone can sign up for so I kind of don't see the point of doing it with a group tour and then being relegated to their choice of restaurant and dining with the group, which may mean you're limited to the "group choice dinner".