Expert brain picking required

ohnonotmeagain

Hi

Help!!!  I am completely overwhelmed, and don't know where to start.Decided Alaska would be a good place to go and started to research the area, and now I have confused myself. SO where do I start from Van/Seattle and return to those ports or do a "one way" and finish in Anc?  What's the best time to go, I don't mean a Tuesday afternoon @4pm but May - Sept is a bit portion of the year.When do you see most wildlife and what? Is a cruise and stay the way to go or just a 2 week cruise? Is one glacier better than another?

Been cruising before so not so much bothered which line but I am from UK, so this might influence some answers.Not got money to burn but I don't need budget  tooo much.

Basically all opinions and tips would be welcome to a complete newbie.

Thanks in advance

Everyone of your questions has been asked here many times, so some reading on the board would be very beneficial. You ask a lot of "best" questions, but don't give any definitions of what is best to you.

Most cruises are 7 days, there are an occasional 10 day, and Holland America does a 14 day, which covers a number of lessor visited ports. We will be on that cruise next summer.

A little reading would reveal Glacier Bay is a prime site. But not all cruise lines go there. So cruise line selection might be important.

I have read a lot of threads here and that's where I've got my self confused. I think what I need is for someone to say...I went to Alaska for the first time and we did this.... but I wished now we had done this......if that makes sense !

I am NOT being sarcastic when I say I don't know what's "best" for me, certainly the time of year. On reflection a cruise is better than a cruise and stay and a 10/14 day sounds more appealing than 7 days, obviously you get to see more:classic_biggrin: