What does a butler DO?

ArtsyCraftsy

Bear with me, folks -- this may seem like a dumb question...

I’m taking my first Oceania cruise this summer -- a short 7-day trip to/from Alaska.  I travel solo, and I’ve booked a PH2.  I believe it comes with a butler.   By the time this cruise comes around, I will have taken a total of 4 cruises: 3 on HAL, and 1 on Regent Seven Seas, none of which have involved the presence of a butler (concierge, yes; butler, no).

So what, exactly, does a butler do?  I grew up in an environment and culture where butlers existed only in literature, so I have no experience with this.  I’m also fiercely independent, so things like helping with unpacking/packing won’t be needed.  

The only thing I can come up with is maybe helping me procure a bottle of decent red wine for consumption in my cabin in the evening or something like that.  Or possibly getting reservations in one of the specialty restaurants? (although truth be told, i’m perfectly capable of picking up the phone and making my own reservations).

Just trying to get some info and ideas so that I don’t make a complete fool of myself or unintentionally insult someone.

Thanks!

Lana in Bellingham, WA

We will also be on our first Oceania cruise and in a PH1 with butler.

We also do not require much service and don't even like our cabin to be cleaned every single day of a cruise. We really like our privacy!

It would be nice to hear how others have used the services of the butler. We definitely would NOT want help unpacking or packing our things!!

Edited by riffatsea
  • Like 2

The  butler  will be there to do what you want him to do (within reason)

It is  not mandatory that he unpack or pack your bags 

You can get dinner in from the Specialties  & the Butler will serve you course by course  should you wish

as above  when you meet  the Butler he will tell you what he can do for you & you can tell him what you require

• Thanks 1