Cruise Critic Community
Meliador007

A(nother) Question about Dress Code

Greetings, I'm a newbie and will take our first Cunard cruise this August. 

Question: on theme balls, like the black & white ball, would I stick like a sore thumb if I did not wear a black/white gown? 

If this question has already been answered, please do not hesitate to point me to the link.

I love this board because of its wealth of information!!!

thank you in advance,

Meliador (Louise)

The themes are just suggestions, having said that, lots of people do stick to black and white as it's the easiest of the themes.

But you won't stick out like a sore thumb, just somebody beautifully dressed in red, green, blue or whatever colour you choose !

The themes are aimed at the ballroom dancers as it's only in the Queen's Room that they have the themed dancing and dressing up competitions.

As has been suggested, there is absolutely no obligation to comply and you won't stick out if you don't.

However, the "Gala" dress code does still apply to most of the ship including all dining rooms, but not the smash and grab.

Stewart

Thank you Host Hattie and Big Marc 1953!  I'm happy to hear that wearing a nice gown will work, even if it's not black/white per se.  We did book on the QM2 because of the ball room dancing, so I guess I will tell my DH that I have to go shopping.... 🙂

1 hour ago, Meliador007 said:

Thank you Host Hattie and Big Marc 1953!  I'm happy to hear that wearing a nice gown will work, even if it's not black/white per se.  We did book on the QM2 because of the ball room dancing, so I guess I will tell my DH that I have to go shopping.... 🙂