Cruise Critic Community
Please look for and post on existing COVID-19 threads before posting a new one.
David rut

Passport/travel insurance question for Australian citizen living in US

Hi everyone,

My wife and I just booked a transatlantic cruise from Southampton to New York for this May 31 on Cunard for our honeymoon.

we are really excited but I wanted to ensure we had all the required paperwork in order for the trip. I am an Australian citizen with an aus passport and I am a permanent resident in the USA. My wife is a us citizen. I just wanted to make sure the immigration/ passport requirements would be the same as when we come home from international flights which is just our passports and for me my green card also. I want to ensure the fact that I am not a us citizen will not prevent me from being able to take the cruise at all.

also, I have received some conflicting reports on the need for travel insurance for the trip. I booked our trip through xxx in the us and I believe if the cruise is booked through the us then the travel insurance is not mandatory. The uk rep that I spoke with informed me that I had to have it but this was before he knew I booked through the us. I just want to confirm that we do not need this insurance even though we board the ship in the uk and the fact that I am not a us citizen and only a permanent resident.

sorry for the long winded questions but this is the first time we have ever taken a cruise and want to be sure we have everything covered for our honeymoon.

thanks so much for your time.

David 

Edited by Host Hattie
Removed TA name

You should have no problem returning to the US as a permanent resident with a green card. You might wish to take documentation with you should any questions arise.