Changing non-refundable to refundable?

iceleven

I've cruised Princess for years but never came across this situation. Currently many of the cruises in the Caribbean are non-refundable offerings. I believe the sale is going till mid-August. I have chosen a cruise and a cabin I want but I don't want an non-refundable booking. I'm willing to pay the extra but my TA is on vacation and her back-up isn't giving me much help. I have two questions:

1 - can a TA book this cruise for me at a refundable rate (I'm pretty sure this is possible but I'm asking for a confirmation)

2 - If I were to buy travel insurance (which I always buy anyway) that states "cancellation for any reason", could this be an option instead of waiting for the price to go up.

I have a specific cabin I want to book and it is the only one remaining in that particular category and that is what is causing this dilemma.

I appreciate any and all feedback.

I am not a Princess expert, but one of our members (Idaho Spud) who is a travel agent informed the forum that, Yes, there were in fact FOUR codes the last several promos could be booked under: Promo Refundable, Promo NRD, No-Promo Refundable, No-Promo NRD -- from most expensive to least.

Cancellation for any reason protection is usually not 100% of your out-lay. So consider your risk vs. the amount that the Promo Refundable is over the NRD...

59 minutes ago, JF - retired RRT said:

Call Princess and book it with the refundable code, then transfer it to your TA later (but not too much later 😉).

This form shows the 60 day limit to transfer a booking & it must be done before final payment.

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=sites&srcid=ZGVmYXVsdGRvbWFpbnxwcmluY2Vzc2NydWlzZXNmYXF8Z3g6MzNmYTU1OWQxOWRlMDNhMA

• Like 1

Are you looking at the Landmark Sale or something else? The Landmark Sale does have a refundable deposit option. It'll take a TA or a call to Princess to get it.