Chops or Giovanni’s Holiday Dinner (Christmas cruise)

Hey all,

This is my first time cruising during the holidays. Would love your personal take on if the 89$ dinner at Chop’s or Giovanni is worth the cost. 

Also two ppl in my group are diabetic. Will the menu change drastically or do you get what you get at specialty dining restaurants?

Does the main dining room do anything extra special for Xmas/Xmas eve? 

Thanks in advance.

Shar

For those prices, we stay with the MDR for Christmas (and even NYE) - there is usually a special menu for no extra cost.

We have also been known to "move" holidays.  Pick a differentiation night to celebrate whatever you want and pay less.

2 hours ago, screspo21 said:

Hey all,

This is my first time cruising during the holidays. Would love your personal take on if the 89$ dinner at Chop’s or Giovanni is worth the cost. ...

Not worth it for us.

We sailed over Christmas  and New Year’s  a few years ago.

There was nothing special for Christmas Eve but there was a  lovely Christmas menu in the main dining room.     Prime rib, turkey, special desserts, that type of menu, 

Christmas Eve, Christmas day, and New Year’s Eve all had inflated prices at the specialty restaurants.    Sometimes the inflated prices include a glass or small bottle of champagne  but I didn’t look closely enough to see if it was the standard specialty restaurant menu 

The prices should be the normal prices on all of the other days. 

Enjoy

m

Edited by cruisegirl1
  • Like 1

On 10/5/2019 at 12:06 PM, lovescats5 said:

Why would it make any difference if there were diabetics in your party?  My son is diabetic and he has no problem finding things to eat on the menu.

Was just asking since I dont personally deal with the illness and wasnt sure what procedure was on cruises regarding it. This will be their first time cruising.

• 1 month later...
On 10/5/2019 at 11:46 AM, Hogbay said: