Eating Keto LIVE on Carnival Dream 11/16/19-11/21/19

SailorMarg

I thought it might be interesting for those that are eating Keto to follow my Keto experience as I live it these 5 days aboard Carnival Dream.  I've been eating Keto for almost 4 months and have lost about 30 lbs.  I count my calories and macros also.  My average calorie count has been 1200-1300 a day.  I purchased a blood ketone monitor to keep track of how well I'm staying in ketosis as I learn to eat this way.  I've been firmly in ketosis pretty much the entire 4 months, after the first 4 days.  

I intend of eating Keto while on this cruise and have brought my ketone monitor to see how well I'm doing.  What I'm *not* doing is counting calories, so I anticipate some weight gain, and will be interested to see just how much at cruise's end.  I'll share that with y'all too.  I'll post what I'm eating and any ketone levels I monitor. 

I also intermittent fast, so no breakfast.  First meal is at 12:00 with second meal at 6:00.  Nothing between 7:00PM and 12:00PM.  So, 17 hour fast.

Yesterday we boarded and for lunch I ate two Guy's burger patties with cheese which I topped with shredded lettuce, a few tomato slices, some sliced onion, pickles, bacon, and mayo.  Chopped it up and it was delicious!

Mid afternoon I purchased a sugar free French Vanilla Latte made with heavy whipping cream.  The BEST latte I've ever had.  So good I was interested to see my ketones that evening to see if it had in fact been sugar free.

We had early dining so at 6:00 I ordered, and ate, shrimp cocktail with minimal cocktail sauce, Caesar salad, flat iron steak, creamed spinach, and shared a mahi-mahi with my husband.  All sauces were minimally consumed.  Oh, and I drank about 10 ounces of champagne I had brought aboard.

About two hours after I finished eating for the day I checked my ketones.  I want to stay 1.5 mmol/L and above.  I was right at 1.5.  Success on day one!

• Like 2