Kids and Empress of the Seas

14 hours ago, cruiserider444 said:

I am looking at a cruise next year for Empress of the Seas. My young kids have been on many cruises on various cruiselines. This ship doesn't seem to have a lot compared to other ships. Any feedback on kid's activities, events, things to do?

Adventure would be a better choice, IMO.

Here is an Empress Adventure Ocean and Teens Cruise Compass from a past cruise:

Empress AO and Teens CC Jul 21, 2019.pdf

I'm on her right now.  Fifty kids on this sailing, three hundred next week for Thanksgiving.  

My kids are all grown up so I have no direct experience with the children's programming on the ship. 

Empress provides a classic cruise experience.  Today ships have water slides, ice skating rinks, bumper cars, zip lines and all sort of activities.  Empress doesn't have all that.  If you are looking to spend time with your kids and leverage Adventure Ocean for some adult time she is a great ship.  If you are looking for a lot of activities and sports to entertain your kids so you don't have to you are not going to find that on Empress.  

• Like 3

thanks everyone. The itinerary and timing is the reason this ship is chosen. Just 1 sea day, so I figured entertainment during the day wouldn't be a big deal and at night, they can do kids club during the shows. There are newer ships leaving the same timeframe, but they go to places we have already been (Port canaveral, nassau and the private island)

2 hours ago, twangster said:

Empress AO and Teens CC Jul 21, 2019.pdf 875 kB · 2 downloads

I'm on her right now.  Fifty kids on this sailing, three hundred next week for Thanksgiving.  

My kids are all grown up so I have no direct experience with the children's programming on the ship.