Drinks packages with children

Caroian

We're cruising on the Getaway this spring. I've cruised before, but not for some time, and this will be the first cruise for my husband and 8 year old son.

As one of our "free perks" at booking, we got the premium drinks package for the adults. We've just been looking at options for our son and can't really figure out how it works. The booking conditions state that everyone in a single cabin must have the same drinks package (makes sense) but obviously this cannot apply to a child. We can't see what is to stop us ordering soft drinks for him through our package but I'm guessing this not specifically allowed? Is it just an "honour" thing that you don't do this? We looked at booking the kids soda package for him (he doesn't usually drink soda - I'm a dentist! - but we're happy to allow it for a holiday). However this option is not available to book for him, so does this in fact mean that he is expected to share our adult packages? If we end up paying out of pocket for some drinks for him, can anyone point me to the costs for basic soft drinks e.g soda and juice? Any guidance from experienced NCL cruisers would be great!

Happy New Year!

You can buy him sodas with your drink package. You just need to ask for them at the same time, usually you can get two drinks per card.  If you go to the bar with your spouse’s card, 4 drinks.  Yes, technically it’s “wrong” to do but I’ve never heard of anyone being stopped from doing it or told not to do it.

the big difference is your kid won’t be able to get his own sodas without a card. My 11 year old likes going to the bar to order a Shirley temple. Not convinced an 8 year old would want to do this anyway!

Thank you. Sounds like it may be one of those things that is not explicitly allowed, but doesn't cause an issue. To be honest, I'm unsure how they'd know who was drinking this drinks, and given that we're talking a few sodas, it's not really going to be a loss maker for them!