Cruise Critic Community
Reijo

When are formal nights

I realize how much this varies, but I'm trying to get my thoughts together for our upcoming 12 night Silhouette cruise.  We leave on a Sunday and I'm wondering if anyone knows the days of formal nights, it would help a lot with what to wear and when.  Thanks!  

@Reijo,

Your sailing involves 2 sea days at the start and 2 sea days at the end of your cruise.  If so, then the first formal night (now called Evening Chic) will occur on the 1st sea day (2nd night of your cruise) and the last Evening Chic night will be on the 3rd sea day (11th night of the cruise).

Edited by mahdnc

Generally on a 12 night Silhouette cruise there are 3 Evening chic nights, at least there were on my last one!

im new to X and found the following helpful with what to wear

First, let’s discuss those formal nights. Love them or hate them, wondering if you have to dress up on a cruise and how much you have to dress up shouldn’t stress you out. Instead of focusing on your attire, you should be giving your attention to the gorgeous scenery of the destinations you’re visiting.

That’s why Celebrity Cruises changed its formal nights to Evening Chic nights. Evening Chic lets you decide how dressed up to get in a way that best fits your style….within reason.

Evening Chic nights aren’t the time to put on your favorite college sweatshirt or well-loved ripped jeans. But you also shouldn’t feel like you need to reuse an old fancy bridesmaid dress or rent a tux for your cruise – unless you want to! And that’s the beauty of Evening Chic nights. Get super dressed up or just get stylishly comfortable.

The dress code for Evening Chic is as follows:

Women should feel comfortable wearing:

• A cocktail dress
  • Skirt, pants, or designer jeans with an elegant top

Men should feel comfortable wearing:

• Pants or designer jeans with a dress shirt, button-down shirt, or sweater
  • Optional sport coat or blazer