Cruise Critic Community
GSfromCT

Price Match Guarantee and Price Drops

I tried searching this topic but could not find anything relevant.

My family is new to cruising (I took a cruise 30 years ago but I don't think changes anything), so I thought I would defer to the experts.

We have been bumped off of the May 4th Liberty sailing and I am now putting the FCC towards a June 3 Sunrise sailing.  June 3 - NYC, yes, I may be a little too optimistic.

I have been watching the Sunrise pricing for over a week and see the price dropping.

I saw a reduction yesterday, put it on a 24 hr hold and called my TA.  She took my hold but had to change the balcony cabin (I don't care, I have no experience in what is a good cabin or a bad cabin).

I wanted to get a 5 day hold so I can watch pricing a little longer, but my TA came back and said the hold is only good for 24 hours on June cruises (from Carnival) and do I want my FCC/OBC rolled into this?

I said yes and final payment is due no later than 4/2/20.  We went from a 4 day to an 8 day, so we owe more than the FCC. 

I feel like the price is going to go down some more and I really wanted a 5 day hold.  Oh well.

I see posts around here about people seeing their cruise go down in price and applying for OBC.

I can watch my booking for changes between now and sailing date.

The 110% guarantee states "If I find a price lower within 48 hours of booking..."

How do I apply for OBC if my cruise price drops if I am outside the 48 hour window?

What advice or strategy should I use on this?

Is the 110% guarantee a price match - refund to your form of payment?

Should I call my TA whenever I see a price drop, should I wait until a certain date?

I guess I'm looking to know what I should know before I need to know (or something like that).