Kids with food allergies

Babyruthc

One of our neighbor's kids has such a severe gluten allergy that their body cannot process gluten at all and they've had to have surgery to relieve the pressure.  They try to take all their trips with Disney cruises because they are so confident in their ability to help their child.  If no one with personal experience chimes in (the board is pretty dead now due to covid) you might also want to post on the different cruise lines to see if anyone can answer.  Best of luck to you.

• Thanks 1

All cruise lines can deal with food allergies with regard to the foods served.  Although I have no direct knowledge about staff being trained to use EpiPens,  I would guess that they would not be trained and would not be allowed to administer them.  There would be too many legal issues involved if a staff member used the pen and the person died.

DON

Why would staff need to be trained? You’re the parent, if your kids are too young to do it themselves, you’re responsible… when you go to a restaurant do you ask if the waiters can administer an epipen? My son has several food allergies so I get it, but I don’t expect staff to be giving him epi

On 10/4/2021 at 11:33 PM, soozles said:

Why would staff need to be trained? You’re the parent, if your kids are too young to do it themselves, you’re responsible… when you go to a restaurant do you ask if the waiters can administer an epipen? My son has several food allergies so I get it, but I don’t expect staff to be giving him epi

I inferred from the OP question that they hoped to use the kids club facilities.  Parents would not be present.  

15 minutes ago, MMsteffey said:

I inferred from the OP question that they hoped to use the kids club facilities.  Parents would not be present.  

I still wouldn't expect the kids club staff to administer Epi Pens. Insurance liability.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, MMsteffey said: