LIVE from the Island Princess - 15-day to Hawaii

BBQ Bill

We arranged transportation through Grand Transportation (714-747-1233 - ask for Pete) for a group of six. Pete met us at the baggage claim with a sign and assisted with our luggage. We had a large van that easily accomodated the six of us and ALL of our luggage. Great service!

Stayed at the Best Western in San Pedro the night before we sailed - five minutes from the ship. Accomodations were fine - clean rooms and free shuttle to the cruise ship (make a reservation when you check in).

Highly recommend the Green Onion Mexican restaurant next door - the food and the Margaritas were excellent!

We arrived at the pier at 11:00 a.m. - walked right in; however, we waited in the Platinum lounge for a hour before boarding. We did not recieve our luggage in to time to change for dinner, but it was waiting for us when we returned from dinner.

As a chef, I must say (unlike a number of the posts I read before sailing) that the food is excellent). The service has been outstanding to this point. The staff has been very accomodating - we have one person in our group that is on a low sodium diet (she had indicated this online) and the head waiter came to our table with the menu for the next evening, let her choose what she wanted and it was prepared without any salt!

The first couple days have been cool and windy, so recommend long pants and jackets for the beginning of the trip!

Having a great time and we'll keep you updated on our adventure!

Bill

I have been following you on the web cam. I could tell by the White Caps Tuesday & Wednesday, it was a little rough and windy. But it looked like the sun came out in the afternoon.

Sounds like the chef is doing a great job in the kitchen, let us know the opinions of the low salt food. Have you had a CC roll call meeting yet?

What is the cost of the Coke sticker? Are there many young people (under 18) on your sailing?

Keep us posted and take care, your DS

Vicki