Cruise Diary Volendam Inside Passage 8/11

swannie

Hello all,

Back from the above trip, absolutely splendid. I kept a journal during the trip, so I thought I'd share it here. This is not a critique or a review, there are plenty of wonderful examples of those on this site. Suffice to say that we were beyond thrilled with the entire experience. A little background info... I sailed with my boyfriend Mike and my brother Carl. Mike and I were in rm 7044, Class A verandah cabin. My brother had a similar cabin down the hall. I am a massage therapist who works at a spa in Vegas. This was my "my turn" vacation, as I call it. Here's the first installment. If you want to ask me any specific questions about the ship/experience, please feel free.

8/12/04 evening, first day at sea

What an incredible experience. This is beyond what we expected! I'm sitting on the balcony, listening to the wake of the ship far below me, it's white foam undulating in the ambient light of the ship. It's warm enough that a turtleneck and sweatshirt keep me cozy for the moment. this morning at 6:30 am, we had breakfast in our room, then Mike went back to sleep and I did my Tai chi-like exercises on the balcony, gently swaying back and forth with the ship, stretching my joints, finding my balance and alignment in hips, feet, ankles, knees. Then a bath in our little tub with the jets. I went back out on the balcony then, and cried a little with joy.

Last night, their was a meteor shower. Mike was up on deck every other hour. I joined him after midnight for a while, on the uppermost unlit skydeck. The meteors I did see were spectacular, long bright trails across the sky. A bunch of teenagers, laughing and exploring the ship, burst out onto the deck. When they saw our ghostly forms standing on the deck, they screamed and laughed. They weren't sure if we were real!

Today we watched whales pluming and spouting near the ship, against a background of blue-grey mountains with white mist at their bases.