Far East itineraries

ssns

We're trying to figure out whether we want to go on the Northern or Southern route but are having a hard time trying to compare them. Can anyone provide pros/cons to each? I think what it may come down to is which route has the best diving. I don't think we'd be disappointed in either, so I may just pick one by flipping a coin and tell my researching side to shut up :)

• 3 weeks later...

I'm just beginning to plan this trip for Nov. 2008 and have the same question. I've been to Thailand, but only Bangkok and Chiang Mai. And I've been to Penang. Other than that, these ports/islands would all be new. Is this the rainy season over there?

Susie

• 2 weeks later...

Hello, I've already booked my Star Clipper cruise for northern route.

I cannot give you good reasons about the route, as I've never been in Thailand or Malaysia, I needed to choose the route to suite my best available dates, but after to search information in the net I think both are very similars. We are not divers but we love snorkeling.

I would suggest http://www.sawadee.com/ were you can find lot of information.

For Susie I can tell you (after reading the guides) from november to april it looks to be the right season to visit Andaman sea, as it is dry season.

I've also write my own post trying to find more information about the shore excursions and how Star Clipper manages the itineray.

I Hope to be lucky!!

CHEERS

Chicagogirl:

Didd the islands you stopped at have towns, temples, things to see and do? Or were they uninhabited and only beaches. I don't want to spend all that money on a cruise that only goes to beaches. I want to see the Thai culture and people, experience life outside off Bangkok.

Please tell us more about the cruise itself and the stops you made.

Susie

We went on the holiday sailing so I think it was a special itinerary (not north or south and 12 days) There was plenty to see and do, not just beaches. What are the ports you are considering?