Wheelchair user on the Dream?

guitargal168

Hey all!

I am toying around with the idea of taking my DD (14) and my mother-in-law on a the 3 day trip in November.(sort of a girls long weekend thing!) She is 85 and is completely ambulatory but would need to use a wheelchair fairly regularly on such a big ship. Does anyone here have any experience in that area? Any suggestions, tips and/or assistance would be gratefully appreciated!

OR..am I just crazy to think about this?:rolleyes:

What info do you need?

DCL is very accessible. CMs treat DS [22, 6', wheelchair] like a prince. Only issue was other passengers who rushed into elevators, or clogged the hallways so we had hard time getting thru.

Sorry so late on my reply. I basically could use ANY tips that anyone has regarding sailing with a w/c user! I am fairly new to cruising and know NOTHING at all about this issue other than I assume I would inform Disney at the time of reservation. She doesn't own her own w/c. Is there a place near the port where I can rent one? Are people "aware" enough to let a w/c user get on the elevator or do they still look at it as a free for all? I have had some extremely rude people let their children jump on an elevator with no regard at all to the fact that I was waiting well before they ever showed up! How about table locations in the dining room...excursions....castaway cay....etc. etc. ANY suggestions at ALL are welcome!!

• 4 weeks later...