2 way radios, which ones are the best???

Does anyone have any suggestions on what kind of 2 way radio's to purchase? I have been doing seaches- I don't know what range to get - 5, 6, 16, 22 miles, privacy channels or not. I just don't know and don't want to break the bank. We are a party of 8- 4 adults & 4 children (17-7 yrs). I have heard that 2 way radios are the best form of communication on the ship. Any suggesstions are greatly appreciated-since I'm a newbie. :D

We had the motorola ones for our Cedar Point trip and it did not work out well. If there are lots of other people using them then the channels get full of chatter and you can't find each other. :o

However, I have not seen a lot of radios on our cruises so you should be in better shape. I think the motorola ones worked well overall.

Hey- I see you are from Buffalo! We are from lockport and I work in Williamsville. We have cruised on the Spirit too! We took all 5 of our kids with us.

I thought about driving to the port and going out of NYC but so far our cruises have been out of Florida. Have you looked at jetblue's airfare? That 50 minute flight sure beats an 8 hour drive :eek:

Jen- we thought about flying but my husband is from NYC so we drive down a couple of times a year- so the kids are use to it. Plus we are picking up my mother in law on the way to the port-since she is going with us, every little savings helps. I'll check into the Motorola a little more and let you know when we get back how they worked out.

Thanks for the help. :p

We used a Motorola Walkabout and it worked well. It's best when you make a time to check-in with each other rather than leaving it on all day. It's also best when it is used with extreme courtesy towards other passengers. ie. go somewhere private when you want to talk, don't use it for idle chatter and quit yelling!