Fantasy Questions

love2traveltn

My husband and I are planning a much needed 2nd honeymoon. 15 yrs and 3 children later. :p

We went on our first cruise ever Oct 08 with all 3 kids (4 nighter on RCCL out of Port Canaveral). We LOVED IT! But we did find ourselves saying quite often how nice it woud be to take a cruise, just the 2 of us.

So, we are planning a 5 night crusie out of New Orleans on Fantasy. I am still a cruising novice so I need some help.

About selecting a cabin. I'd like an oceanview instead of an interior. I am normally prone to getting seasick (though I had no problems on our cruise in Oct) but I'd rather play it safe. Which floor/level would be best to avoid getting seasick?

I know a cabin mid ship would be preferable but when I do a "mock" reservation on the Carnival website it seems cabins to the front or rear are all that is available (June 8 - 13). Is one better over the other?

I'd also like to have a room that is as free of outside noise as possible (hallways, engines, dance clubs above/below). Having a get-a-way from 3 kids would be better enjoyed with some reprive with quiet.

So, can anyone help me decide where to look for our cabin?

Also, we'd really like to have a private table for 2 during dinner. Are we going to have any chance with this? Are we better off asking for early or late reservations to help this cause?

Many thanks!!

My wife and I took our first cruise without the kids in January of 2008. We stayed on the upper deck, midship and had no problems. We might have heard some noise in the hall, but not that much. The cabin was wonderful. Of course, we would get back to our cabin late at night, sorta out of it already, and would go right to bed. So whatever noise there was, we really never heard it.