Just checked in to Sheraton Wall Centre - not impressed

NightRN

We flew in about an hour ago and checked in to the hotel. The hotel room is smaller than a Motel 6 room. My view is of the rooftops of old buildings. The staff was friendly, but not overly accommodating. We've heard 3 sirens in the small amount of time we've been here. I am an ER nurse, so it has been fun to see the ambulances run in to the hospital, but it will get old very quickly when we're trying to sleep. My husband walked around the corner to 7-11 and ran across 2 or 3 homeless people. $9.00 for a bowl of oatmeal from room service. $22.00 if I want a Denny's "Grand Slam" type breakfast. This is not what I expect when I am paying $200 a night for a hotel room. If this is what we get as preferred spg members, I hate to see what non-members get.

I can't comment on the size of the rooms at the Sheraton as I have never stayed there but street people are a fact of life here in Vancouver - they are more of nuisance than anything else - many are not homeless but more "lost" - there is also a youth drop-in center next to the 7 -11 so that tends to draws then to that corner - I know I live about three blocks from the Sheraton and walk by there just about every day.

Hopefully you will be able to enjoy the rest of your visit and try and take in the fireworks at Canada Place tonight - starting at 10:30PM - just head straight down to the north foot of Burrard and find a place neat the new convention center for the best views.

Cheers

Dennis