Newbie - What type of stateroom should we book?

kittywife77

Hi all,

I am a newbie both to cruising and the forums here. My hubby and I are considering booking a cruise to the Fjords with our baby, who will be 13 months old when we sail, on the Ventura in July this year.

We have decided on this ship because of the facilities for the little one, can anyone shed any light on whether cruising with such a young tot is a good idea (I am extremely aerophobic, which is bizarre as the hubby is a silent partner in his family's flying school!) and what type of cabin to go for.

Many thanks in advance,

KW77

I agree, the best cabin you can afford, as with a baby more space will make your life easier onboard. A balcony cabin is lovely, but beware of the balcony if your little one is walking /climbing now? The balcony rail is quite high and unless he's *********, it should be safe as long as you are with him at all times.

I did the Fjords in September, some photos here:

http://picasaweb.google.com/AuroraPartyCruiseSueV/OceanaAugust2009FjordsCruise?authkey=Gv1sRgCPSenbjJ_a7hXQ#5378441939071488114

AND SOME PHOTOS of the ship Ventura here for you:

http://picasaweb.google.com/AuroraPartyCruiseSueV/VenturaWeekenderSept08#5246677551498717762

DON'T KNOW WHY ONE WORD IS BLANKED OUT IT WAS ONLY SUPER MAN!

Thanks all, I hadn't factored in the light considerations - but our little girl is very good at going to sleep at any time and in any conditions... I wonder where she gets that from?!? I suppose we wouldn't actually be in the cabin for that long really - I was just wondering in terms of size and fitting a cot bed in.

LibraLass - thanks for the photos, both the ship and the Fjords look better than I thought they would.

Don't worry about the clarification on aerophobia, indeed I am deathly afraid of flying, last time I did it I was 15 weeks pregnant and cabin crew had to chase me from running away from the gate!

Again, thanks all!

KW

John, have your posts gone walkies?