"Cultural" Excursions

sbaas95

Hi All!

I've been a lurker here on the boards for the last few days...my first post! My fiancee and I just booked our honeymoon cruise for next July (Carnival Legend), and one of the stops is Roatan. I'm looking for a great excursion, one that has a lot of cultural elements to it, seeing as I'm a Spanish teacher and looking forward to visiting Honduras, a country I've never been to (although it is only for a few hours, and a port at that).

Any suggestions out there? I found the GARIFUNA, MANGROVE TUNNEL & IGUANA FARM ISLAND TOUR through Island Marketing. Has anyone done this one? I'm looking for a little more than snorkeling, or beaching...something unique to Roatan.

Thanks for your help!

I found Roatan (and the whole island) to be much closer to a tourist destination than a true look at how people in Honduras live. Just my opinion though.

Obviously you did not visit the "whole island" As there are many typical Honduran areas.

True I didn't visit the "whole island" but I did drive by the Wendy's, Subway and Applebees. :p

and these are not an indication of the island of Roatan. Yes, it is getting more commercialized as more ships visit as are any of the islands that cruisers cruise too. However, there are still many, many areas that aren't commercialized and worth it for visitors to see.

True I didn't visit the "whole island" but I did drive by the Wendy's, Subway and Applebees. :p

Then how can you post such nonsense?

I found Roatan (and the whole island) to be much closer to a tourist destination than a true look at how people in Honduras live. Just my opinion though.