35 Day Cruise Oceania Capetown to Singapore 12/11/10

Jerry & Lee G

I teach many returned Peace Corps volunteers who will return to Africa after their training. Last May we sailed up West Africa with Princess. I was thrilled to find Oceania’s cruise up East Africa for this December. As a professor, I need to be able to understand the places for which I am preparing health workers.

Not to be rude.... but if you need to understand where you are sending workers then you need to make the trip to the area and not via cruise ship so you will have more time in the field to evaluate the needs of the people there.

I haven't looked up the original ports or the alternatives, but I can perhaps shed some theoretical light on why a ship cannot spend more time in given port instead of an alternative port.

Let's say the ship was originally scheduled to Port A on day 1, Port B on day 2 and Port C on day 3. Let's further stipulate that the time required to reach Port B from Port A was 12 hours, and the time to reach Port C from Port B was also 12 hours, and assume the ship was to stay in each port from 8 AM to 8 PM

Now, if Port B is canceled, and the ship stays an extra day in Port A, 12 hours is lost while the ship sits overnight in Port A, and 12 additional hours are lot while the ship spends day 2 in Port A.

When the ship leaves Port A at 8 PM on Day 2, it will take 24 hours to reach Port C -- but it only has 12 hours available before 8 AM on day 3.

Therefore, the alternative Port B has to be somewhere between Port A and Port C, and the time must add up to 24 hours -- perhaps 13 hours to the new Port B, and 11 hours to Port C.

If the alternative Port B is somewhat off the original course, for example requiring 15 hours to reach it and 15 additional hours to reach Port C, the time in each port may also be adjusted -- departing at 5 PM in both Ports A and B, arriving late in Port C, or perhaps cutting 6 hours from the time in the alternative Port B.