NCL or RCCL kids program

jam82

I'm deciding between NCL Jade, NCL Epic or RCCL Liberty for a Med sailing next June. I like the itinerary of the Jade the best, but the ship the least. The Epic and the Liberty have similar itineraries.

I've cruised both lines in the past, but not with my son so I have no experience with the kids program. We have cruised Carnival, HAL and Princess with him and liked both the Princess and Carnival programs. We were very disappointed with the HAL kids program. Although on the whole HAL was nice, we won't sail them again anytime soon due to their lack of age appropriate activities and a staff with attitude.

I'm interested in the differences between NCL and RCCL in regards to the kids programs and how they compare to Carnival and Princess.

DH is will be 4 and he doesn't need a lot of extras, just a good program with a caring staff and flexible hours.

All opinions are welcome.

I think it really depends on who the staff are on the ships. We have sailed on RCCL, NCL and HAL with the kids (soon to go on Oasis). My kids loved RCCL and HAL. Both times they had wonderful staff and they really did fun things. On the NCL cruise I don't know if it was because it was end of season or what but the staff were very disengaged and didn't do anything really fun. My kids found that the staff never followed what was in the schedule for the day and as a result were often disappointed when we made the effort to head up to the kids program for a specific thing only to find out that the program is just a "guideline " and they don't really follow it.

Having said that the actual kids area was really great on NCL as they had a climbing area (like in a fast food place) as well as lots of space to play.

Hope that helps.