Small items for a gift

bluesea4me

Sorry, I thought that you were asking for gifts to bring to children on the islands.

I am a teacher as well and my classes of 8-9 year olds loved whenever I brought seashells back for them. Seeing as we live on the prairies, the shells were a novelty for them.

Sorry, I thought that you were asking for gifts to bring to children on the islands.

I am a teacher as well and my classes of 8-9 year olds loved whenever I brought seashells back for them. Seeing as we live on the prairies, the shells were a novelty for them.

I'd love to bring shells back, but when we were in Aruba, we were told that it wouldn't make it through inspection because your not supposed to be bringing them into the states due to species...blah blah. Hmmm now I'm wondering.:confused:

If they find the shells, they will take them away from you. If they take the shells and that's your gift, you'll be left empty-handed. Try the other suggestions. I wouldn't take the chance of returning and saying, "your gift is with Inspector 105"..Cayman dollars is something I hadn't thought of, but I like that. Do they have coins??? I can't remember. That would be a cheap, fun souvenior.

Well, it looks like money might be the winner so far. In Roatan (i've posted on the boards for all of the placing we are porting) it is bills. They say a 1 would be .05 for me. Def. will be getting 18 of those! So that's .90 spent, then in 'cayman hopefully a coin around the same value! then Coz and Belize...probably won't happen, but would be neat! keep the ideas coming, I love them and thank you!

Smallest currency notes in Cayman are CI$1=US$1.25. Coins are available in CI$.01 CI$.05 CI$.10 and CI$.25. Each is worth 25% more than their American counterpart.

There is a shop on the water side of Harbour Drive next to Atlantis where they sell sea shells. The shells are imported - not locally collected.