Blackpool White Star Academy Course

YoungQE2Cruiser

Hi.

Just to let anyone who read my last post about applying for this course and was interested in how I got on, that I had the interview to start the White Star Academy course yesterday, and got it!! :D Therefore, I'll most probably be moving to Blackpool in September to start the course and will be on either the QE2 or the QM2 by Christmas! I can't wait!

There isn't really a website that I have managed to find for it really, although there is a small section on www.blackpool.ac.uk but its hard to find. Basically all it says is that Cunard run this course 2-3 times a year for 10 weeks and that it is an NVQ in Food and Drink Service.

I'm not really sure why I was chosen. In the interview they asked me about myself and my qualifications, so I discussed about my GCSE's and that I am just finishing my A Levels. Then I went on to say about my job in a restaurant, although I have no silver service experience. They are mainly interested in confidence, people skills and how dedicated you are going to be to the course. I then spoke to a man from Cunard about how I had been on the ship before and he was very pleased because that meant I had experienced the service from the other side and should be aware of how top class it is and how that dinner is not only about the excellent quality food, but also about the service. Finally, both men said that they would be happy to accept me onto the course and that it was a shame I could not start in April, but I have to finish my A Level's off first. Most of the other people's interviews lasted about 20minutes, but mine only went on for about 10, but everyone was basically asked the same thing. If you have any former experince or have taken any NVQ's in Food Service, they ask you a few technical questions and it means that you do not have to attend the college every day of the week. You only have to go in for the bits of the course you have not taken before. Cunard also helps you s