Sounds pretty crazy to me!!!!

We are planning a cruise in January RCI Manier of the Sea. My husband is in a powerchair and he also uses insulin. I asked if the rooms had a frig. Our Costa Cruise did. Well I understand RCI does not. I was told we could leave the insulin in the ice bucket and the steward would come in every hr and change the ice.

This sounds pretty CRAZY to me. Yes during the day this might be ok but what about during the night? I don't need anyone coming in every hr.

Yes I know we will make some other plans. I will more than likely bring a tiny ice chest. But I just thought the idea sounded off the wall.

Contact Special Services. I belive they have an arrangement for rental refrigerators for some of their ships.

Alternatively, keep it in the ship's hospital refrig. You would have to go pick it up there.

Actually, I am a nurse, and it is not necessary to refrigerate insulin if kept at normal room temperatures. You just need to protect it from extreme heat. We never refrigerate it in the hospital. Check with your pharmacist on this.

I've always keep the insulin in the refrig althought i understand it doesn't need to be.

About the room having a frig or not, i guess i will find out in January. No big deal if insulin does not have to be kept cold.

The thing i wanted to addressing in the post was the fact that the steward would come in every hour to check the ice in the bucket. I thought that was just plain crazy.

What do you think?

The thing i wanted to addressing in the post was the fact that the steward would come in every hour to check the ice in the bucket. I thought that was just plain crazy.

What do you think?