lava viewing HIKE or HELICOPTER

tammie brooke

I have being reading the threads on the valcano lava Hike. If you have done this would you recommend viewing lava and doing the big hike or spending the money to view in the air on Helicopter. If you hike it would you recomment the tour or doing it on your own. We're in port from 7:00am - 6:00pm. Family of 4 Kids ages 10 and 13. Thank you I have never done this before and want to make the correct choice, I'm very confused THANK YOU.

The helicopter is the easy way. The hiking way is more difficult, strenuous, and with younger kids might be hard (though ages 10-13 would probably be fine). Might appeal more to people that like physical activity. Neither is guaranteed to see lava. The helicopter will have access to more terrain and better views of the lava that might be too dangerous to approach by land. The helicopter will definitely cost more (especially if you do the hike on your own without going with a tour or a guide).

Pros and cons either way. If money wasn't an object, I might go with the helicopter (did that before and it was an awesome sight). Personal choice, I think.

If you decide to do the helicopter, I'd still go to Volcano National Park to see the park in person. There's something about seeing it up close and in person and to breathe in the fumes ... :)

Spleen

You could certainly rent a car and do it yourself - or you could sign up with a private or ship tour to do it as well. I lean towards doing it yourself since it's pretty easy to navigate the Hilo area (not too many roads to get confused with) with your own rental car. As for helicopter companies - do a search in this forum for "helicopter Hilo volcano" - you'll probably find a bunch of recommendations. Here's one: http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=114831&highlight=helicopter+hilo+volcano