whale watch

alaswhales

I am new to the Hawaii board and would like to know what tour if any, you would recommend in Hawaii for a close up whale watching excursion??? We will be there in Jan or Feb and are open to islands at this point in time. We will be in Oahu for a couple of days and then can go to whichever island we want. While I have heard it is best viewing in Maui, is there a tour from the big island near Kona? I would love to visit the volcano, so it would be best if we can find a good tour there. Thank you.

Maui is best for whale watching. That time of year you can often see many whales from ashore on the drive south of Lahaina. You take a whale watching trip in Kona too, but there are fewer whales, and not on the same day you go to VNP. VNP is actually closer to Hilo, if you cruise stops there.

Maui is definitely the BEST island to take a boat out for whale watching. The whales tend to linger longest in the waters between Maui, Lanai and Kahoolawe. We will usually pick up one of the many booklets you find at the airport and tourists spots that are filled with coupons for whale watching. There's booklets like Maui Gold and 101 Things to do on Maui. Also have the same types of booklets for ALL the islands. You can find whale watching boats off all the major islands.

Kona is on the opposite side of the Big Island than the volcanos. Take you an entire day to do the volcanos from Kona so unless there isn't anything else you want to do in Kona, you may consider something other then going to the volcano.