Camera recommendations?

Jotul

I'm looking for my perfect camera. :D Can anyone help?

I have a Canon Digital Rebel SLR right now, but it's bulky. So, I'm looking for something:

1) With lots of MP (I crop pictures a lot, so need to make sure I retain high res, even when cropped).

2) Is good in both indoors in dim light and outside in the Caribbean sun.

3) Is very compact.

4) Takes as good a picture as my SLR.

5) Has a decent shutter speed, to keep up w/ my active kids.

Anything like that exist? I've read a lot of reviews, but I'm not a pro, so a lot of the stats and numbers mean nothing to me.

Thanks!

Most compact cameras aren't going to keep up with your DSL, so you need to decide which is more important - the options of the DSL or compactness. Some compacts can come close, but most cannot.

Personally, I'm a Nikon girl, but I love my compact Canon S3-IS. It's only 6MP, but it's great for a compact camera. And it has 12X optical zoom.

Have to add my vote for the S3-IS or the Sony DSC-H5. Both are near the equal of your Rebel in good light and neither will perform in dim light anywhere near as well.

Since I've been hauling 30+ lbs of camera gear on trips for ever, I'm not bothered by the bulk of my DSLR and lenses. I carry the DSLR for the response, resolution and versatility of interchangeable lenses. That being said, I also own an 8MP Konica-Minolta A2 all-in-one compact digicam and use it on walkabout shopping days on shore when I want to travel light. For all other situations I also carry a tiny Canon PowerShot SD800IS pretty much 24/7 "just in case" (my Wonderful Wife calls it the "dinner camera" because it doesn't ruin the lines of a suit :D ).

Bottom line could be:

a) The perfect camera does not exist.

b) The perfect camera is actually three cameras.

c) All of the above.

I took "c"...

Dave