Grand Cayman - Eden Rock or Sunset House?

Grits53

My DH and I have limited snorkel experience, but we're hooked. Last year, we snorkeled with a cruise excursion off Punta Sur in Cozumel. This turned out to be over a mile of swimming/snorkeling, but we hung in there with the younger set and did fine. We'd definitely want to use snorkel vests, though. We want to see some colorful fish and reefs and hopefully something "different", like a nurse shark, eel, turtle, or stingray, without being elbow to elbow with other snorkelers like we were on the excursion. And we don't want to feel like we're working hard at this, if you catch my drift. We'd like to go at our own slow pace, and not have to go terribly far from shore. We've bought our own masks but will have to rent fins and vests. We'll be cruising the first week of Sept. Given this info, which would you recommend, Eden Rock or Sunset House? Or somewhere else? Thanks in advance!

Hi,

There's a mix of opinions on this board between the two (there's a thread just about 1/2 page down). I prefer Sunset House, the reef is less crowded than Eden Rock but requires a quick taxi to get there. They also have a full dive shop and rent gear and have lockers while you're in the water and they have a great bar on the ocean for afterwards. Taxi's are usually out front or the dive center can call you one. Check out their website at www.sunsethouse.com. The dive center's pages have all the info you need on rental, shore diving (snorkeling) and it shows their ladder into the water. Also if you still want some help, you can contact the dive center and they can get you a snorkle guide for a price.

Randall

Hi,