looking for tips on Mediterranean cruise

Hi, I'm reposting this from the 'ask a cruise question' forum as it was highly recommended to do so. Thank you! -zender

Greetings. I'm going on a two week private cruise on the Norweigian Gem next summer embarking from Barcelona. Ports of call include Rome, Naples, Sicily, Santorini, Ephesus, Istanbul, Athens and Valletta.

I'm basically a cruise novice having only sailed once so far to the Caribbean.

Looking for pointers - guide books, shore excursions, etc. Thanks!

Whew- there is a ton of information around.

Guide books - go to your bookstore. Look at the ones they have. Everyone has their favorite. I like Frommers. But Fodors and Rick Steves are popular too.

TV - watch the travel channel. Lots of good shows including Rick Steves, Samantha Brown, Anthony Bourdain etc. etc.

Videos - your local library or Blockbuster etc. has videos for rent or checkout that will give you lots of info on ports of call.

This website also has volumes of information. If you look at the very top of the page (orange bar) there is a link to 'PORTS' which has information on each one.

Shore excursions: these will vary from line to line and even from ship to ship so I would suggest you go to the website for your cruiseline. Put in your saildate etc. and see what excursions they will offer. These will usually give you a pretty good idea of what there is to do and see also.

Lastly: if you have a question.... just start a new thread and ask (of course you would want to do a search first and see if it has already been covered - sometimes to great lengths ;) ) as everyone here is more than happy to share their info and experiences.

You will love your European cruise !!!!

Check out Rick Steves books/videos and website as you'll find lots of info there http://www.ricksteves.com

Also, here are some threads specific to your ports

Rome

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=283936

Athens